Minutes of 76th meeting of the Senate of Punjab Engineering College(Deemed to be University), Chandigarh.

A. Brief of meeting and participants:

| Date | 16.07.2018 | |
|---|---|--|
| Time | 10 a.m. | |
| Venue | Senate Hall, adjacent to Director's Secretariat | |
| In-Chair Prof. Manoj Kumar Arora, Director, PEC | | |
| List of Participants | May be seen at Flag 'A' | |

B. The brief of proceedings is as follows:

| Item No. | Item | Decision | |
|-------------|---|--|--|
| 76.1 | To Consider the PG | After detailed deliberations the content and | |
| | curriculum | syllabi of all the 1st semester courses of various | |
| | To consider the IAPC approved | M.Tech. Programmes as recommended by | |
| | structure and curriculum of M.Tech 1st Semester courses | IAPC, were approved as the new PG structure | |
| | Will con T. Competer courses | and scheme to be implemented from the new | |
| | | academic session 2018-19. Following was also | |
| | | recommended:- | |
| | | i) In each course, corresponding MOOCs | |
| | | courses will be listed. | |
| | | ii) For those courses where the MOOCs | |
| | | courses are being run in a blended mode, | |
| | | there will be one hour loading of either | |
| | | tutorial or practical per week. The | |
| | | corresponding teacher will be given that | |
| | | loading and shall compulsorily register for | |
| | | that MOOCs course. The fee of registration | |
| | | may be booked to his/ her PDA/ PDF. | |
| | | iii) The content and syllabi for courses to be | |
| | | seen for second semester will be discussed | |
| | | in the next Senate meeting. | |

| | | iv) The structure/ so | heme and content will be | |
|---------------|----------------------------|--|------------------------------------|--|
| | | uploaded on the institute website separately | | |
| | | for each programme as soon as approved. | | |
| Any | AICTE Model curriculum for | A letter from NPIU was received by the TEQIP | | |
| other item | B.Tech & M.Tech programme | Coordinator regarding compliances of | | |
| 76.2 | | implementing recei | ntly introduced model | |
| | | curricula for UG a | nd PG programmes by | |
| | | AICTE. The Asso | ciate Dean (UG) and | |
| | | Associate Dean (Po | G) presented a detailed | |
| | | comparison of existin | g UG and PG curricula in | |
| | | PEC with the model | curricula. The Senate has | |
| | | decided that the PEC | UG and PG curricula are | |
| | | similar to and better | than the model curricula. | |
| | | Therefore, a complia | nce report, as desired by | |
| | | the NPIU may be ser | nt. The Senate authorized | |
| | | the Coordinator TEQ | IP to do the needful with | |
| | | the approval of the Ch | nairman, Senate. | |
| 76.3 | Chief Guest for Annual | The Annual Convocation 2018 is scheduled to | | |
| | Convocation'2018 | be held on 13.10.2018. As per the past practice/ | | |
| | | tradition, following names for the Chief Guest | | |
| | | for the annual convocation 2018 have been | | |
| | | suggested by the Senate: | | |
| | | Name | Affiliation | |
| | | Sh. Ajay Singh | Chairman, Spice Jet | |
| | | Sh. Sunil Bharti | Founder and Chairman, | |
| | | Mittal | Bharti Enterprises | |
| | | Sh. Adil Zainulbhai | Chairman, Quality Council of India | |
| | | Sh. Naresh Goyal | Chairman, Jet Airways | |
| | | | | |

Meeting ended with the vote of thanks to the Chair.

Members of Senate

Flag 'A'

| S.NO. | NAME |
|-------|--|
| 1 | Prof. Manoj Kumar Arora, Director |
| 2 | Prof. Vinod Kumar, VC, Japypee University, Solan |
| 3 | Prof. Gurvin Singh, Managing Partner, COATEC INDIA |
| 4 | Dr. Uma Batra, Deputy Director &HOD Metta |
| 5 | Prof. Harminder Kaur, HOD Applied Sc. |
| 6 | Prof. Rakesh Kumar, HOD Aerospace Engg |
| 7 | Dr. R R Singh, HOD Civil Engg |
| 8 | Prof. Sanjeev Sofat, HOD CSE |
| 9 | Dr. Tilak Thakur, HOD Electrical Engg |
| 10 | Dr. Neelu Jain, HOD ECE |
| 11 | Dr. P.S. Satsangi, HOD Mechanical Engg |
| 12 | Dr. M M Goud, HOD Prod & Indl Engg |
| 13 | Prof. V.P. Singh, Mech. Engg. |
| 14 | Dr. Shakti Kumar Arora, Civil Engg. |
| 15 | Dr. D.R. Prajapati, Mech. Engg. |
| 16 | Er. R. K. Mahajan, Metta |
| 17 | Er. Tejinder Singh Saggu, Elect. Engg. |
| 18 | Ms. Maninder Kaur, Head, Library |
| 19 | Prof. Sanjay Batish, Head, Computer Centre |
| 20 | Prof. Sharda Kaushik, Head CMH |
| 21 | Prof. Divya Bansal, Head CSRC & CDGC |
| 22 | Prof. N M Suri, Head Centre for TQM |
| 23 | Registrar, Secretary |
| 24 | Prof. Parveen Kalra, Head CoE (Indl & Prouct Design) and DAA |
| 25 | Prof. Rintu Khanna(spl.Invitee) |
| 26 | Prof. Sucheta (Spl. Invitee) |
| 27 | Prof. Rajesh Bhatia, CSE (Special Invitee) |
| 28 | Prof. Tarlochan Kaur, Elect. (Special Invitee) |